Adventure!-Cuyabeno

It’s that time of the week, aka Tuesday, for another new Adventure! So let me get us going if you don’t mind.

This week I’m backtracking it a bit to my journeys last summer (which you may be familiar with) when I found myself down in Ecuador. As part of my stay down there I made my way over to Cuyabeno which is a wildlife preserve that protects an area that is key to the beginning of the Amazon river system. While I was in Ecuador I was lucky enough to be able to take a trip to this amazing place and spend several days wandering around and seeing a few of the many great things that are there. During my stay in Cuyabeno I was able to travel a lot by canoe (obviously) which was pretty cool since it was a traditional canoe just with a large motor on the back end so it didn’t take all day to get from place to place. When we were on some of these rides we spent a lot of time seeing some of the wildlife that inhabits the area such as a wide variety of birds, monkeys, pink dolphins, caymen and most importantly sloths (because they’re just the best). Wandering around we were able to spend time at a small village, play some soccer (or football depending on your perspective), swim and just hang out. It’s an incredible area that allows for so much exploring whether your hiking, canoeing, swimming or just moseying along there’s so many places to go and with it being such an incredible area it’s well worth the trip. Despite my time there being short the impression that I received of the area is long lasting and making me want to find myself again there soon.

Have any of you ever been to Cuyabeno? If you have let me know in the comments below and also about any other cool trips that you’ve been on. Also if any of you Deviants are interested or wanting to talk about an Adventure you’ve been on let me know in the comments below and we can see about getting you featured here as well. Now go forth my Deviants and make your own Adventure!

N

 

Leave a Reply

