On My Mind: Helping Out

Why hey there you mischievous Deviants, it’s Wednesday so let me give you a little piece of what’s On My Mind.

Today’s another one of those days where I start to realize that I may have a habit of occasionally over extending my help. I have a tendency to tell people that I’m able to help them out with what they need  (such as moving, carrying heavy objects, etc.) and sometimes I schedule them too close together. I don’t think that it’s necessarily a bad thing to have a tendency to offer your help to others, in fact it’s probably good, but it can be problematic when you do it too much. By nature I think most people are caring and almost always want to help someone else out when they need it (unless that involves doing something extremely miserable like going to a country concert). The fact of the matter though is that sometimes people who have a tendency to commit to helping to many people at the same time need to take a step back and maybe say no to carrying that persons couch and then going and helping with another one’s garden. In reality though that’s not feasible because helping someone else out is an inherently selfish act, when you help someone you get an IOU for that back pocket when you have something even more miserable that you need help with.

What’s the most difficult thing that you’ve ever said you would help someone with? Let me know in the comments below and don’t forget to keep checking back every week for more new material, now go and keep it classy Deviants!

N

One thought on “On My Mind: Helping Out

  1. Most difficult thing I helped with was helping the dominator wade through an order of gizzards at fort calhoon, I didn’t get many. Uncle Greg

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

