Adventure!-Virginia to Georgia

Well Deviants it’s Tuesday and that means it’s time for an Adventure! This week we have a special edition coming from one of our very own Deviants so sit back and enjoy.

Hey what’s up guys?! It’s me again, “fan-favorite” Joel Springman! Just when you Deviants thought you were rid of me. The Duo was nice enough to give me a special opportunity to take over this week’s Adventure! Earlier today (3/22/2016) I took an adventure from Richmond, Virginia, all the way down to Columbia, Georgia. Home to Fort Benning, and the U.S. Infantry School. My adventure contains a heartfelt goodbye, good scenery, and an old High School friend.

My journey began up in a county called New Kent, located by Richmond, Virginia, home to the very first-first lady, Martha Washington, and the location where John Smith was captured, later to be saved by Pocahontas. It was a heart felt goodbye, my family was all busy with their day to day lives leaving me free to say goodbye to all of my cats. No one will be there now to let them out all day, feed them, and snuggle with them at night. The most gut wrenching goodbye goes to a cat named Rosy, who growled after I started to pet her. My next stop in the journey took me down to Ft. Bragg, North Carolina.

Fort Bragg was an awesome place. Here I got to see an old High School friend of mine, Dallas Rhoads, who is currently going through the Special Warfare School at Ft. Bragg. It was a quick little get together, with some good food, but alas, nothing last forever. My whole time there was nothing but seeing Rangers, and Special Forces. I’m pretty sure one of them even looked at me! Onward to the next part of the journey, Ft. Gordon, Ga.

This part of the trip seemed to have come out of nowhere. The city of Augusta seemed to have come out of nowhere, along with all of the hills and rivers located nearby. The area was beautiful and I would recommend stopping in the area (Augusta, not the Ft.) if you ever get the chance. Despite popular belief, turns out the South is more than just Confederate Flags and KFC. Who knew! Onward to my final destination, Ft. Benning, Georgia.

After passing through Atlanta (which has the biggest airport I have ever seen), I jumped on good old I-185 South for Columbus, Georgia. It’s located right by the Alabama border, home to a prestigious company, Aflac, I’m not making this up. I was here once before, but I didn’t have a lot of time to look around because I was busy getting yelled at (for army stuff). After a busy 14 hours on the road, I finally made it my destination, Ft. Benning.

Thank you to all of the Deviants who took time to read this. Hopefully there is more to follow! Be sure to listen to the Devious Duo take the radio (and Verm) by storm weeknights on KAOR on Monday and Wednesday Nights!

Well Deviants that’s our Adventure! for the week, a special thanks to Joel Springman for taking the time to write and share his journey and good luck to him with infantry!

If you’re interested in sharing one of your adventures feel free to send us an email or message us at one of our other social access points here and let us know so we can make it happen! As always feel free to let us know what you thought in the comments below and don’t forget to keep checking for more new material now get out there and make your own Adventure!

N

Leave a Reply

