Gosch Darn Thoughts – Phones and Other Devices

I remember when I was a kid, although I sometimes still consider myself a child. Anyway, when I was a kid cell phones were this awesome piece of technology you could use to call or text. The idea of texting blew me away when I first learned of it. Now, I was born in ’94 so cell phones weren’t new by the time I was 6 or 7 but what they could do in 2000 and 2001 blew my mind! We also had a computer with internet at our house and when I was introduced to it, the possibilities were endless! The technology I had when I was a wee lad absolutely astonished me by what it could do. I had this technology but do you know what was even cooler? Going outside and playing, hanging out with friends, getting hurt because we played a bit rough, and growing the bond between you and your friends which created memories that will last a lifetime!

Flash forward 16 years. I go out to eat with my friends or am with my family when I visit them. As I sit there I notice everyone is staring at their pocket sized screens. Instead of making a moment or memory from the situation, my friends or family choose to bide the time and get through by keeping themselves entertained with their phone or other device. Hey I understand checking that Facebook or playing that one game every now and again but I don’t let it get in between me and life. Every time you go out there is the possibility that you will be making an amazing moment. We don’t have very much time to live. Death is final and boring! I choose to put my phone away and make the most of every social escapade! If I am with my friends somewhere and they choose to whip their phones out you better believe I’ll pistol whip mine at them! That’s right! I will straight up smack the shit out of you with my phone. Don’t test me mother f****r! Let’s have a legitimate fun time damn it! Put your phone away. That facebook, twitter, and instagram can wait.

So those are my ramblings. If you liked this or disagree with me, please leave a comment below. I’d love to see how you feel.

Stay Devious.

-A

Leave a Reply

